Do You Get Two Serves In Ping Pong

Do You Get Two Serves In Ping Pong

Last modified: September 30, 2023


Ping pong, also known as table tennis, is a popular indoor sport enjoyed by people of all ages and skill levels. It involves a small ball, a table, and a pair of paddles. One common question among ping pong enthusiasts is whether or not you get two serves in the game. In this post, we will explore the rules of serving in ping pong and clarify the concept of double serves.

Serving in Ping Pong:

The serve is a crucial aspect of a ping pong game. It is the starting point of each rally and can greatly influence the outcome of a match. In ping pong, there are specific rules and regulations regarding the serve.

H2: Basic Rules of Serving

When it comes to serving in ping pong, there are a few fundamental rules that players must adhere to. Here they are:

H3: 1. The Serve Must Begin from an Open Palm

According to the official rules of ping pong, the serve must start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server’s stationary hand. The hand should be in a stationary position behind the table’s end line.

H3: 2. The Ball Must Rise Six Inches

During the serve, the server must toss the ball at least six inches into the air before striking it with their paddle. This rule ensures that opponents have sufficient time to react to the serve.

H3: 3. The Serve Must Be Diagonal

In ping pong, the serve must be made diagonally from one side of the table to the other. The ball should bounce on the server’s side first before crossing the net and landing on the receiver’s side. This rule prevents the server from gaining an unfair advantage by serving directly at the opponent.

Double Serve in Ping Pong:

Now, let’s address the question at hand: do you get two serves in ping pong? The answer is both yes and no.

In some casual or recreational settings, players may choose to allow a “double serve,” where each player gets two consecutive serves. This practice is not regulated by the official rules but is often used to make the game more enjoyable for beginners or casual players.

However, in professional or competitive ping pong, there is no provision for a double serve. The server gets only one opportunity to execute a proper serve. If the serve is faulty, such as hitting the net or missing the opponent’s side, it is considered an invalid serve, and the opponent is awarded a point.


In conclusion, the rules of serving in ping pong state that each player gets only one opportunity to serve the ball. This serve must begin from an open palm, involve a ball rise of at least six inches, and be performed diagonally from one side of the table to the other. While some casual games may allow a double serve, it is not a part of the official rules in professional or competitive play. So, next time you step up to the ping pong table, remember that you have only one chance to make a winning serve!

Additional Ping-Pong Resources:
Table Tennis Girl is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program that helps website admins earn advertising fees by linking to We only earn a commission if you purchase an item from The prices on Amazon do not change (either way) if you reach them via our links.